a hope design

Chief Innovation Officer

In Career Moves on June 13, 2011 at 8:19 pm

I was talking with a client/business partner the other day about what my title in our up-shoot of a company should be. We were texting, really, but isn’t that about the same thing? I have designed the logo, am working on the web site, coming up with a social and online marketing plan and doing a bit of the marketing footwork also. I hope to be writing the script for our upcoming YouTube video and designing our ad for Coffee News this weekend. I am stoked and having the time of my life! Just trying to restrain myself from using too many exclamation points is about to drive me to drink…or ice cream.

I thought Director of Marketing had a nice ring and would look good on my resume. On the other hand, Director of Social Marketing has a forward thinking, in the “now” feel to it. Being a Social Network Marketer is quite the popular thing at the moment. I don’t want to look behind the times. He suggested Vice-President of Marketing. Nice, but a little ostentatious, don’t you think?

Then I was reading Advertising Age this weekend and saw the PERFECT title: Chief Innovation Officer! I love it. It’s a title that Interpublic just made up for Matt Freeman. Actually, the full title is Vice-Chairman, Global Chief Innovation Officer…even more impressive! (Geez, get it right, Ad Age.) I read it and thought, “That is SO me!”

Aside: For those who might complain that I write this blog just to toot my horn, I do. I am writing this for the selfish reasons of finding out what makes me special and brushing up on my writing skills. This is the easiest way to accumulate “published” writing examples for potential employers. They say write about topics on which you are an expert. I’m an expert on me. If you don’t like it, go get your own blog. Thank you.

Alana Hope Bowman

It describes me well, I think. I love brainstorming about everything, not just about a new creative way to get the attention of the public. I enjoy thinking of better ways to do things to improve functionality all the while conserving time and effort. Getting the most done in the least amount of time is my daily goal. I don’t just enjoy having new ideas, I also enjoy figuring out how to incorporate those new ideas into the regular routine. Penelope Trunk says to find something you like to do, that you are good at and that people are willing to pay you to do. Wouldn’t it be great if I could get paid to research, read and come up with better ways to do things? I have a huge stack of books sitting on my kitchen table that I’d love to be given TIME to read…books about marketing, design and technology, not romance novels or mysteries. These are books that I hope will make me better at what I do.

I just finished reading Seth Godin’s book Poke the Box. I would quote from it, but I immediately gave it to a friend to read. Basically, Seth says that being an innovator is what companies should look for in their employees. He was not just talking about people with lots of big ideas. He’s talking about the ones who have the ideas and take the steps to get the ideas in motion. See, it’s not enough just to be innovative in thought. You must move that passive innovation of thought into an action. If you never move your ideas into actions, your ideas aren’t worth a lot.

There are so many excellent quotes in that book, one that I can remember off the top of my head, “When was the last time you did something for the first time?” Why is it that people can be so afraid of trying a new way or doing a new thing? So what if it doesn’t work like you thought it would. Tweak it! Keep working at it until it succeeds for you or move on to the next innovation. Don’t sit in your ditch doing the same thing the same way. Dictionary.com lists one antonym of innovation as “rut.” If it is broken, and most of the time you know it is, start coming up with ways to do it better.

I like the way Vanilla Ice put it, wearing his lovely tight-rolled pink pants, “If there was a problem Yo, I’ll solve it!”

He might not have been talking about innovation in business…

  1. Nice

Leave a Reply

